Randy Allen Named Grant Fellowship of Christian Athletes Teaff Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

By Vineworker

Randy Allen, who recently completed his 34th season as a head coach in Texas, has been named the recipient of the 2013 Grant Teaff Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He was presented with the award Monday at an FCA event during the American Football Coaches Association convention in Indianapolis.

Allen owns a 327-80-6 career head coaching record, all as a high school coach in Texas. For the past 15 years, he has coached at Highland Park High School, leading the Scots to a 174-21 record during that time. The Scots won the 2005 Class 4A state title behind quarterback Matthew Stafford, now the Detroit Lions quarterback. In 2013, Allen led Highland Park to a 13-2 overall mark and an appearance in the state semifinals.

Allen's first head coaching job came at Ballinger High School in 1981 after eight years as an assistant at Bryan High School. Allen's Ballinger teams went 44-15-2 in five years, despite not having a winning record in any of the previous five seasons before Allen arrived. He spent the next five seasons coaching Brownwood to a 43-13-2 mark before taking over at his alma mater, Abilene Cooper, in 1991. He would stay at Cooper for eight seasons, including the 1996 campaign in which Cooper reached the state championship game for the first time since 1967, when Allen was a student-athlete on the team. 

Allen became the 10th head coach in Texas state history to record at least 300 wins.

More than a coach, Allen is heavily involved with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, serving as a member of Dallas/Fort Worth FCA's Leadership Advisory Board. He is also involved with Highland Park High School's FCA Huddle.

Allen is also the author of two books, Coaching by the Book and Coaching Character. His wife, Carolyn, is the author of The Coach's Wife.

Named in honor of former Baylor coach, American Football Coaches Association executive director and member of FCA's Board of Trustees and Hall of Champions Grant Teaff, the Grant Teaff Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a coach that has committed his life to being a Christian influence on the lives of student-athletes. Previous winners include Dr. Homer Rice, Parker Dykes, Jimmy Keeling, Fisher DeBerry, Jerry Moore, Mel Tjeerdsma, Houston Nutt and Tony Dungy.

© 2014 Fellowship of Christian Athletes